Editorial: 42nd Gala ADISQ

November 1, 2020, the 42 Gala ADISQ, hosted by Quebecois comedian and actor Louis-José Houde, took place. The event took place without an audience. However, the nominated artists and their groups were attending and socially distanced (following protocols). Louis-José Houde did an incredible job hosting this Gala, just like previous years. 

Congratulations to all the artists who won!


-The opening act was incredible. There were six fantastic performances, and each one transition from one to the next smoothly.

  • Cowboys Fringants – L’amérique qui Pleure (Intro to ADISQ 2020)
  • 2frères – À Tous Les Vents
  • Evelyne Brochu – Maintenant ou Jamais
  • Naya Ali- Get it Right 
  • KNLO – Ça fait mal
  • Bleu Jeans Bleu – King de la Danse en Ligne

– Louis-José Houde’s Monologue was funny and relatable because many of us are looking forward to the end of 2020 with the current pandemic.

– Louis-Jean Cormier performed Je Me Moi, a song from his latest album Quand La Nuit Tombe, wonderfully. 

-Marie-Pier Arthur sang her latest hit Tiens-Toi Mon Coeur beautifully.

-Eli-Rose performed her recent single Carrousel magnificently.

Marc Dupré gave an epic performance of his hit Rien ne se perd, from the album with the same name.

Louis-José Houde’s Monologue with Ariane Moffatt, where they discuss quarantine, how they miss performing in front of an audience, etc.

-Anachid performing with Matt Holubowski & Flore Laurentienne together & separately

  • Anachid (twice): La Lune and America
  • Matt Holubowski: Moon rising 
  •  Flore Laurentienne: Fleuve No. 1

-Isabelle Boulay and Pierre Lapointe pay a heartfelt tribute to three female legends of Quebec music Pauline Julien, Renée Claude, and Monique Leyrac.

  • Mommy by Pauline Julien
  • C’est Toute Une Musique by Monique Leyrac
  • Un Gars Comme Toi by Renée Claude
  • C’est le Début d’un Temps by Renée Claude

-Cowboys Fringants – L’amérique qui Pleure (reprise) after winning song of the year. 

-Congratulations to these winners

  •  Cowboys Fringants for Group or Duo of the year
  •  Alexandra Stérilisky for Female Artist of the Year
  • Émile Bilodeau for Male Artist of the Year

Once again, congratulations to all the winners of the 42nd Gala ADISQ.

Louis-José Houde’s closing speech was thoughtful and sweet. It’s a pleasure to watch him host ADISQ 2020.

Flora Youssef

Leave a Reply